Fallingwater is recognized as one of Wright's most acclaimed works, and in a 1991 poll of members of the American Institute of Architects, it was voted "the best all-time work Edgar J. Kaufmann family of Pittsburgh, Wright responded to the family's love for a waterfall on Bear Run, a rushing mountain stream. Mimicking a natural pattern established by its rock ledges, Wright placed the house over the falls in a series of cantilevered concrete "trays," anchored to masonry walls made of the same Pottsville sandstone as the rock ledges. Although the house rises over 30' above the falls, strong horizontal lines and low ceilings help maintain a sheltering effect. Almost as much floor space is taken up by outdoor terraces as indoor rooms.
Construction began in 1936, and ended with the completion of the guest house in 1939. The Kaufmann family used Fallingwater in all seasons as a weekend or vacation home until the 1950's, when their son inherited it. Edgar Kaufmann, jr., by then a Curator at New York's Museum of Modern Art, continued to use Fallingwater until he entrusted it to the Western Pennsylvania Conservancy in 1963. His gift was lauded by the architectural community as a commendable act of preservation during a time in which many Wright-designed buildings were being demolished or in serious states of disrepair.
Fallingwater is the only great Wright house open to the public with its setting, original furnishings, and art work intact. Almost all of the original Wright-designed furnishings are still in place. Fine art, textiles, objets d'art, books, and furnishings collected by the Kaufmann family from the 1930's through the 1960's are on view, and represent the eclectic tastes of a sophisticated, world-traveled family. Included in the collections are works by Audubon, Tiffany, Diego Rivera, Picasso, Jacques Lipchitz, Richmond Barthe, and woodblock prints by Japanese artists Hiroshige and Hokusai - gifts from Frank Lloyd Wright to the Kaufmanns.
A North American natural wonder, Niagara Falls flows with scenic might through Niagara Falls State Park. And just beyond its waterfall vistas, Niagara is filled with splendid discoveries and fantastic attractions.
Pictures are great, but getting close enough to touch Niagara Falls inspires genuine awe. Millions of gallons of water rocket over Niagara Falls every minute – about 750,000 gallons each second! There’s no closer place to “feel Niagara’s flow” than from the decks, boats, vista points and trails of Niagara Falls State Park - America’s oldest state park.
With sparkling scenery, thrilling attractions, family-friendly and interactive exhibits, miles of hiking trails and delectable dining options, Niagara Falls State Park gets you closer to the Falls than anywhere else. The park features classic adventures and vacation amenities to make the most of your trip, and no passport is needed to experience an unforgettable and breathtaking Niagara Falls vacation.
Dine at the Top of the Falls Restaurant, stand within feet of the Falls at the Cave of the Winds Tour, meet the legends and daredevils of Niagara in the Niagara: Legends of Adventure movie, make friends with the sea life at the Aquarium of Niagara and let the water cascade around you during the Maid of the Mist® boat ride.
Museum of Shenandoah
The Museum of the Shenandoah Valley (MSV) interprets the art, history, and culture of the great valley for which it is named. This regional museum complex in Winchester, Virginia, includes a historic house dating to the eighteenth century, six acres of spectacular gardens, and a Museum designed by internationally recognized architect Michael Graves. The historic house is now closed until 2014 for a preservation project.
You could easily spend the better part of a day at this museum site. Plan for at least one hour to explore the gardens and at least 90 minutes to experience the Museum galleries. One good approach is to experience the gardens in the morning, have lunch in the Museum Café, and see the galleries in the afternoon. Or vice versa. The Museum Café, is also a good place for afternoon tea. Don't miss the Museum Store during your visit
The Museum of the Shenandoah Valley museum campus takes its name from this impressive structure designed byMichael Graves & Associates.
The museum houses four major gallery spaces, including the Shenandoah Valley Gallery, where objects, state-of-the-art multi-media presentations, and dioramas help Valley history come alive. In addition to its collection of Valley objects, the museum showcases two outstanding Valley collections. The Julian Wood Glass Jr. Gallerypresents fine art and antiques, including paintings by such names as John Constable, Thomas Gainsborough, and James Whistler. More than fifty artists are represented in this collection.
Equally fascinating is the R. Lee Taylor Miniatures Galleryof exactly furnished miniature rooms and houses. The work of more than seventy miniatures artisans is presented in this collection that charms adults and children alike.
The Changing Exhibition Gallery presents a new exhibition every three to six months. This gallery is currently closed for the installation of the Museum's next changing exhibition,Moveable Feasts: Entertaining at Glen Burnie, opening on March 5, 2013.
PIER 39, San Francisco’s Premier Bay Attraction, is a festive shopping mecca featuring 110 specialty shops and 14 full-service restaurants serving seafood, California cuisine, and casual fare with beautiful Bay views. At PIER 39 the picturesque scenery captures Alcatraz, the Golden Gate and Bay Bridges, Fisherman’s Wharf and city skyline. PIER 39’s two-level design with lush landscaping is a must-see on San Francisco’s historic waterfront. There’s a multitude of fun for everyone with attractions and live entertainment to amuse all ages.
PIER 39 is owned, leased and managed by Moor + South/PIER Management Co., LP.
The 45-acre complex is located in San Francisco, two-blocks east of Fisherman’s Wharf at Beach Street and The Embarcadero. Convenient parking is available across the street in the PIER 39 Garage. For further information, please phone PIER 39 at 415.705.5500 or 415.981.PIER.
PIER 39 is patrolled 24-hours by experienced security professionals to ensure the public’s safety. Trained as first responders and abiding by the Good Samaritan Law, the PIER 39 security team is certified in First Aid, CPR, the Automated External Defibrillator, and Fire and Life Safety. Working with Federal and City of San Francisco law enforcement and emergency services agencies, they are well-versed in law enforcement techniques and a wide array of emergency response scenarios.
“Lost and Found” is located at the PIER 39 Security Booth in the Entrance Plaza.
PIER 39 is an accessible facility. Access areas for individuals with disabilities include ramps and six elevators to the second level. TTY phones are available. Sign language interpreters for live performances can be provided upon request with two weeks notice. For further information call 415.705.5500 Monday - Friday during normal business hours.